Do black people tan?

I made a friend at the pool today – a golden haired eight year old whose name was Hannah. She asked me if I liked to swim and whether I had on enough sunscreen. She agreed to be the referee as my friend and I raced from one end of the pool to the other.

Here we are, in a remote lake resort in Indiana and this beautiful girl doesn’t care that I am black. She wants to make sure I am ok. That I won’t drown. That my skin will be free of burn. I love children. Their innocence and their unquestioning acceptance. I felt 100% human today.

– soo

Leave a Reply

